Zhang vs Joyce 2 Date, Start Time, TV Channel And Undercard

Zhang vs Joyce 2 Date, Start Time, TV Channel And Undercard

  • Zhilei Zhang Stopped Joe Joyce In 6 Rounds In April At The Copper Box
  • Joyce And Zhang Rematch On Sep 23 At Wembley’s OVO Arena
  • Oleksandr Usyk Unified Title Shot Looming For The Winner Of Zhang vs Joyce 2

HEAVYWEIGHT GIANTS Zhilei Zhang and Joe Joyce rematch this Saturday, 23 September at the OVO Arena, Wembley, live on TNT Sports.

Big Bang Zhang and Juggernaut Joyce first collided in mid-April at the Copper Box Arena, where it was Zhang who left the venue in possession of the WBO Interim Heavyweight World Championship strap.

FIRST FIGHT RECAP

Referee Howard Foster stopped the fight in the sixth round due to the heavy swelling around the right eye of defending champion Joyce.

The Chinese hero Zhang lived up to his stage name in Stratford, ending the unbeaten professional record of the fellow Olympic silver medallist.

Hitchins vs Zepeda Undercard CONFIRMED

Zhang vs Joyce 2 Undercard

Anthony Yarde vs Jorge Silva

ANTHONY YARDE was supposed to hit the comeback trail towards his next world title challenge on 23 September with an all-British clash against Ricky Summers but Summers pulled out of the fight around ten days out.

The Brit will now instead face Portugal’s Jorge Silva (22-8, 12 KOs). Silva has boxed once before on British soil, an 8-round 80-72 PTS loss to Kieron Conway this February in Nottingham.

Yarde, the self-styled Beast from the East, won the admiration of the boxing public back in January when he gave unified world light heavyweight champion Artur Beterbiev his toughest fight to date before being retired by his own corner in the eighth round in front of a packed and enthralled crowd at the same Wembley venue.

Read this:   Tszyu vs Thurman PPV Price CONFIRMED

READ: Robert Smith Responds To The Conor Benn Fight Announcement

For Yarde (23-3, 22 KOs) it represented a second world title challenge after previously going up against the formidable Sergey Kovalev in the then-champion’s home town back in 2019.

Now Yarde looks to get the ring rust off in Wembley before going into a bigger fight either later in 2023 or early 2024.

Pierce O’Leary vs Kane Gardner

WBC International super lightweight champion Pierce O’Leary (12-0,7) makes a second defence of his belt against Kane Gardner (16-2).

Gardner upset the odds in March when he picked up a decision win over Conah Walker – who would go on to upset Team GB star Cyrus Pattinson last month.

A significant step up for O’Leary and a win that puts him in the very exciting 140-pound mix that involves Dalton Smith and Adam Azim.

Other Fights

Former WBO #1 Zach Parker (22-1) will make his ring return against Khalid Graidia (10-12-4) following his stoppage loss to John Ryder last November.

Also in the light heavyweights, the undefeated and flamboyant Nottingham stylist Ezra Taylor (6-0, 4) takes a significant step up when he faces Portsmouth man Joel McIntyre (20-7, 5) over eight rounds.

Heavyweight sensation Moses Itauma (4-0) is back against Amine Boucetta (7-8) over six rounds.

READ: List Of Most Recent WWE Releases (SEPTEMBER 2023)

Read this:   Tszyu vs Thurman PPV Price CONFIRMED

Former two-time European Amateur champion Royston Barney-Smith will have fight No.7 on his professional journey over six rounds against Engel Gomez (8-17-1).

Powerhouse cruiserweights and social media enemies Tommy Fletcher (5-0, 4) and Aloys Jr (4-1, 4) will brew their growing rivalry by both fighting in six-round fights to complete the card.

Fletcher meets Alberto Tapia (3-4) whilst Aloys Jr faces veteran journeyman Erik Nazaryan (29-33-4).

Sam Noakes’ brother Sean Noakes (5-0) meets Lukasz Barabasz (2-8) to open the night.

Zhang vs Joyce 2 Start Time And TV Channel

The preliminary action is scheduled to begin at 5:00 pm BST (12:00 pm ET, 9:00 am PT) (subject to change) on the Queensberry Promotions YouTube Channel with the main card a little while later at 7:30 pm BST (2:30 pm ET, 11:30 am PT) live on TNT Sports 2 in the UK.

ESPN + will show the action in the United States as a one/two-fight broadcast from 5 pm ET (2 pm PT).

Main Event Ring Walks will occur at approximately 10:30 pm BST (5:30 pm ET, 2:30 pm PT). Stay tuned to NoSmokeSport.com for more details about the running order, undercard and fight week updates as they happen.

Follow EverythingBoxing On Twitter For Live Coverage.

Zhilei Zhang vs Joe Joyce 2– WBO Interim Heavyweight Title – Sat, Sep 23– OVO Arena, Wembley, London, UK – Live On TNT Sports 2

By Darshan Desai