Shakur Stevenson vs Shuichiro Yoshino Fight Date, UK Time, TV Channel, Tickets, Ring Walk Time

Shakur Stevenson vs Shuichiro Yoshino Fight Date, UK Time, TV Channel, Tickets, Ring Walk Time

Shakur Stevenson vs Shuichiro Yoshino: Stevenson will make his lightweight debut this Saturday against Japan’s Unbeaten Yoshino.

Shakur Stevenson (19-0, 9 KOs) is looking to win a world title in a third weight division, after already winning titles at featherweight and super featherweight.

The fight on Saturday will take place at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey, USA. This is where Stevenson won his last fight back in September against Robson Conceicao. Stevenson came in one and a half pounds over the 130lbs limit and was therefore stripped of the WBC and WBO world title belts.

If he is to beat his Japanese opponent on Saturday, he will be set for a shot at the WBC lightweight Belt.

Like Stevenson, Shuichiro Yoshino (16-0, 12 KOs) has a perfect record. In his most recent fight back in November, he retained the WBO Asia Pacific lightweight title against Masayoshi Nakatani.

Read this:   Tszyu vs Thurman PPV Price CONFIRMED

Yoshino is ranked in the top 15 of the WBC, WBO, and IBF rankings; he’s fourth in the WBC, seventh in the WBO, and 12th in the IBF.

Stevenson, aged 25, is five years younger than Yoshino, but he has some impressive names on his resume, including Jamel Herring and Oscar Valdez.

The 25-year-old had a stellar amateur career winning Silver at the 2016 Summer Olympics, in Rio. He lost in the final on that occasion against Robeisy Ramirez representing Cuba. The Cuban was recently victorious against Isaac Dogboe to become a world champion at featherweight.

The standout fight on the undercard is Jared Anderson (13-0, 13 KOs), who faces George Arias. The bout is scheduled for 10 rounds in the heavyweight division. Anderson from Toledo, Ohio, was Tyson Fury’s chief sparring partner.

Read this:   Tszyu vs Thurman PPV Price CONFIRMED

The card is made up of eight fights and for viewers in the UK, coverage on Sky Sports starts at 02:00 am BST (9 pm ET, 6 pm PT). The main event is scheduled to start at 4 am BST (11 pm ET, 8 pm PT) on Sky Sports Main Event.

Stay tuned to NoSmokeSport.com for more details about the undercard, running order, and fight week updates as they happen. Tickets for the event are still available and can be found here.

Shakur Stevenson v Shuichiro Yoshino – WBC World Lightweight Title Eliminator – Sat April 8– Prudential Center, Newark, New Jersey, USA – Live On Sky Sports

By Hayden Knowles

Also, Read Jesse Rodriguez vs Cristian Gonzalez Fight Date, UK Time, TV Channel, Tickets, Ring Walk Time