Rakhimov vs Cordina Fight Date, UK Time, TV Channel, Tickets, Ring Walks

Rakhimov vs Cordina Fight Date, UK Time, TV Channel, Tickets, Ring Walks

Rakhimov vs Cordina Lands In Cardiff As Brit Gets Second World Title Opportunity

Tajikistan’s Shavkatdzhon Rakhimov (17-0-1, 14 KOs) defends his IBF super featherweight world title against former champion and mandatory challenger, Wales’ Joe Cordina (15-0, 9 KOs) this Saturday, April 22 at the Cardiff International Arena (formerly known as the Motorpoint Arena) in Wales live on DAZN.

How To Subscribe To DAZN: Click On This Link

2016 Olympian Cordina produced the ‘knockout of the year’ last year when he spectacularly flattened then-champion Kenichi Ogawa inside two rounds in June. Cordina was ordered to face mandatory challenger Rakhimov in November of last year but he, unfortunately, injured his right hand whilst in training camp and was stripped of his title by the IBF in a hasty move due to the prolonging of mandatory deadlines.

Read this:   Tszyu vs Thurman PPV Price CONFIRMED

Rakhimov instead fought Manchester’s Zelfa Barrett for the vacant championship on the condition that whoever won must face Cordina in their first defence. Despite Barrett winning the early rounds and putting on an impressive showing, Rakhimov prevailed in the end via stoppage.

Six months on the roles are reversed, Cordina’s the mandatory and Rakhimov’s the champion with momentum. A real 50-50 world title fight in front of what will be a sold-out, red-hot atmosphere in Cardiff in the lead up to the super fight between Gervonta Davis and Ryan Garcia later that night.

A 10-fight card which features Cordina’s domestic rival and potential opponent Zelfa Barrett, Sandy Ryan‘s world title challenge, the British lightweight title and more is scheduled to begin at 4:00 pm BST (11:00 am ET, 8:00 am PT) on the Matchroom Boxing and DAZN Boxing YouTube channels with the main card a little while later at 7 pm BST (2 pm ET, 11 am PT) on DAZN globally.

Read this:   Tszyu vs Thurman PPV Price CONFIRMED

Main Event Ring Walks will occur at approximately 10:00 pm BST (5:00 pm ET, 2:00 pm PT). Stay tuned to NoSmokeSport.com for more details about the undercard, running order, and fight week updates as they happen. Very limited tickets for the event, starting at £112, are still available. The event is expected to sell out.

Follow EverythingBoxing On Twitter For Live Coverage From Ringside.

Shavkat Rakhimov vs Joe Cordina – IBF Super Featherweight Title – Sat, April 22– Cardiff International Arena, Cardiff – Live On DAZN

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Heavyweight Sensation Moses Itauma Unexpectedly Goes The Distance In His 3rd Fight, Perfect Or Suboptimal Matchmaking?