Lawal vs Chamberlain Running Order, Start Time, Fight Card, And Main Event Ring Walks

Lawal vs Chamberlain Running Order, Start Time, Fight Card, And Main Event Ring Walks

  • Joshua Buatsi vs Dan Azeez Postponed After Azeez Sustains Back Injury
  • BOXXER Show Goes On With 4 Fights And Switches Venue To York Hall
  • Lawal vs Chamberlain Running Order, Start Time And Other Important Details

The all-British clash between the WBA #1 and #2 world-ranked light heavyweights Joshua Buatsi and Dan Azeez has been postponed after Azeez suffered a back injury in his final training session.

Despite the injury to Azeez and the main event off, the card will still go ahead.

READ: Catterall vs Linares Undercard Information

Mikael Lawal (17-0, 11 KOs) will defend his British cruiserweight championship against Isaac Chamberlain (14-2, 8 KOs) in the new headliner.

Lawal picked up the title with a stoppage win in a difficult fight with Scotland’s David Jamieson last November.

WATCH: NoSmokeSport’s Exclusive Interview With Mikael Lawal

The pair were supposed to clash in Bournemouth but a dental injury on Lawal’s side saw the bout postponed and Chamberlain instead fought Dylan Bregeon at York Hall.

Chamberlain had a British fight of the year contender with WBO champion Chris Billam-Smith last July, establishing himself as a contender at 200 pounds.

Read this:   Oscar De La Hoya On Haney vs Garcia PPV Buys

WATCH: NoSmokeSport’s Exclusive Interview With Isaac Chamberlain

The winner will be ordered to defend against 2020 Olympian Cheavon Clarke who has quickly become must-watch TV in the eighteen months since turning professional.

Lawal vs Chamberlain Undercard

Commonwealth super-welterweight champion Louis Greene (16-3, 10 KOs) will make a third defence of his title when he meets Sam Gilley (16-1, 8 KOs). The fight will double up as a final eliminator for the British championship held by newly-crowned champion Samuel Antwi.

Greene scored a fifth-round knockout victory over Dean Sutherland to win the Commonwealth title in November last year and defended it in May with another stoppage victory against Paul Kean.

English super-welterweight champion Gilley booked this shot at Greene’s Commonwealth title in June, when he landed a blistering body-shot knockout of Ellis Corrie in what was the third stoppage victory of his last four outings.

2020 Olympics bronze medallist Karriss Artingstall (4-0) is confirmed for the card for her fifth professional outing and her second time competing over eight rounds as she works her way up the rankings and towards title contention.

Canada’s Vanessa Bradford (7-4-2), who has gone the distance with three 130-pound champion Hyun Mi Choi, Alycia Baumgardner and Mikaela Mayer, will look to spring an upset on Britain’s Artingstall.

Read this:   McGrail vs Leach: Date, Time, TV Channel, Undercard

Michael Hennessy Jr (11-1-1) and Joe Laws (13-2) clash in an 8-round Middleweight bout. Hennessy was supposed to face Harley Benn on this show but the brother of Conor Benn and legendary Nigel Benn was pulled out by his team.

Both Laws and Hennessy have suffered upset losses to journeymen. Laws was stopped by Rylan Charlton on a Sky Sports main card in Oct 2020.

Lawal vs Chamberlain Running Order

  • Karriss Artingstall vs Vanessa Bradford – 8 Rounds Featherweight
  • Michael Hennessy Jr vs Joe Laws – 8 rounds Middleweight
  • Louis Greene vs Sam Gilley – Commonwealth Super-Welterweight Title
  • Mikael Lawal vs Isaac Chamberlain – British Cruiserweight Title

Lawal vs Chamberlain Start Time, Ring Walks And TV Channel

Date: Saturday, October 21

Venue: York Hall in London, UK

TV Channel: Sky Sports Arena (UK) and Peacock (US)

UK Time: 7:30 pm BST (2:30 pm ET/ 11:30 am PT)

Ring Walks: 10 pm BST (5 pm ET/ 2 pm PT)

By Darshan Desai

Featured Image Credit: Lawrence Lustig/BOXXER