Canelo vs Ryder Running Order, Start Times, Undercard And Main Event Ring Walks

Canelo vs Ryder Running Order, Start Times, Undercard And Main Event Ring Walks

The King Is Coming Home: A 50,000+ Crowd In Guadalajara Will Witness The Homecoming Of The Biggest Star In Boxing

Canelo vs Ryder Running Order And Other Important Details

Boxing’s bona fide superstar Canelo Alvarez (58-2-2, 39 KOs) defends his Undisputed Super-Middleweight title against his WBO mandatory challenger, Britain’s John Ryder (32-5, 18 KOs) at the 50,000-capacity Akron Stadium in Guadalajara, Mexico this Saturday, May 6, live on DAZN PPV in the US and Canada and as part of the DAZN subscription in 190 territories including the United Kingdom.

Ryder, a 34-year-old from Islington, London, had the best year of his career in 2022 when he decisioned former world champion Daniel Jacobs in February, a career-best win, and then claimed an inside-the-distance victory over world #1, Zach Parker at the O2 in November.

A fight with Canelo should’ve come years earlier when the 12-year veteran was unlucky to not get a win over Callum Smith for the world super middleweight title in 2019. The majority had him winning the contest. Smith went on to fight Canelo just twelve months after, an opportunity Ryder will feel could’ve been his.

Canelo, a free agent on paper, has had five of his last six bouts under Eddie Hearn’s Matchroom Boxing so it comes as no surprise that he will fight under the banner once again. Canelo to win is always a popular bet at Las Vegas Sportsbooks

The Mexican is looking for revenge against WBA Light Heavyweight champion Dmitry Bivol who upset him last May, one of just two career defeats alongside a lopsided points decision to Floyd Mayweather a decade ago.

Should he get past Ryder, Canelo Bivol 2 is expected to materialise for September although the location, weight and other factors are very much in the air as of now.

Canelo vs Ryder PPV Undercard

In the co-feature, Mexico’s Julio Cesar Martinez (19-2, 14 KOs) defends his WBC Flyweight title against Panama’s Ronal Batista (15-2, 9 KOs). Martinez was supposed to face his mandatory challenger McWilliams Arroyo on this card but that bout looks to once again be delayed.

Batista, a super flyweight with little profile, is coming off three consecutive wins since his decision loss to Mikhail Aloyan (4-1) in Russia in 2019. Martinez last fought in December when he scored a 12-round majority decision win over Spain’s Samuel Carmona.

Read this:   Oscar De La Hoya On Haney vs Garcia PPV Buys

This shouldn’t be too difficult of a task for Martinez and the plan will likely be a unification fight as soon as possible. Sunny Edwards and Bam Rodriguez, should he win tonight, are expected to meet in a unification fight in July leaving Ukraine’s WBA champion Artem Dalakian for Martinez.

Former WBC Light Heavyweight champion Ukraine’s Oleksandr Gvozdyk (18-1, 14 KOs) will face Latvia’s Ricards Bolotniks (19-6-1).

Bolotniks was supposed to face Craig Richards on the April 1 Anthony Joshua-Jermaine Franklin undercard in a reschedule of their Nov 26 fight, which fell apart at the 11th hour due to an illness from Richards, but the Londoner suffered a hand injury ruling him out of a fight with Bolotniks for the second time.

‘Lion’ Bolotniks instead gets an opportunity on another major card against Gvozdyk, who was at one point considered a top 3 in the division. Gvozdyk has only laced up the gloves once in a professional ring since his tenth rounds stoppage defeat at the hands of Artur Beterbiev in Oct 2019 – a six-round decision win in February.

Gvozdyk has teamed up with Canelo’s trainer Eddy Reynoso who has assisted him in landing a slot on the undercard.

Australia’s Stevie Spark (16-2, 14 KOs) and Mexico’s Gabriel Valenzuela (26-3-1, 16 KOs) clash on the show in a 10-round Super Lightweight attraction for Valenzuela’s WBA Continental title.

Spark upset Montana Love in Cleveland last November. The Aussie dropped Love in the second and was bizarrely thrown out of the ring by the American in the sixth which led to Spark winning via disqualification.

Valenzuela also faced Love last May when he suffered a decision loss on the Canelo Bivol undercard in a largely forgettable fight. Since then he has bounced back with a first-round KO over Yves Ulysse Jr in Canada.

Canelo vs Ryder Prelims

Nathan Devon Rodriguez (10- 0) VS Alexander Mejia (19-5), 10 Rounds Featherweight

Bek Nurmaganbet (8-0) VS Argenis Espana (15-1), 8 Rounds Lightweight

Lawrence King (11-1) VS Elio German Rafael (19-4), 8 Rounds Super Middleweight

Read this:   McGrail vs Leach: Date, Time, TV Channel, Undercard

Abilkhan Amankul (2-0) VS Jesus Moroyoqui Palomares (7-3-1), 8 Rounds Super Featherweight

Johansen Alvarez Suarez (9-0-1) VS Johan Rodriguez Arreguin (4-0), 6 Rounds Super Featherweight

Jesus Larios (0-0) VS Alejandro Curiel (0 -0-1), 4 Rounds Light Flyweight

Carlos Rojo Vazquez (7-0) VS TBA, 4 Rounds Super Welterweight

Canelo vs Ryder Running Order According To DAZN

Before The Bell/Untelevised Prelims

  • Jesus Larios vs. Alejandro Curiel; Featherweight 
  • Carlos Emiliano Rojo vs. Fabian Trejo Rivera; Super welterweight
  • Bek Nurmaganbet vs. Argenis Espana; Super middlewight
  • Abilkhan Amankul vs. Fabian Rios Frausto; Middleweight
  • Johansen Alvarez Suarez vs. Johan Rodriguez Arreguin; Super featherweight
  • Lawrence King vs. Elio German Rafael; Super welterweight

MAIN CARD

  • Oleksandr Gvozdyk vs. Ricards Bolotniks; Super middleweight
  • Nathan Devon Rodriguez vs. Alexander Mejia; Featherweight
  • Gabriel Gollaz Valenzuela vs. Steve Spark; For the WBA Inter-Continental super lightweight title
  • Julio Cesar Martinez vs. Ronal Batista; For Martinez’s WBC flyweight title
  • Saul “Canelo Alvarez” vs. John Ryder; For Canelo’s WBA (Super), WBC, IBF and WBO super middleweight titles

Canelo Alvarez vs John Ryder UK Time, TV Channel And Main Event Ring Walks

An 11-fight card which features former Light Heavyweight champion Oleksandr Gvozdyk, WBC Flyweight champion Julio Cesar Martinez and more is scheduled to begin at 11:00 pm BST (6:00 pm ET, 3:00 pm PT) on the DAZN Boxing YouTube channel with the main card a little while later at 12 am BST (7 pm ET, 4 pm PT) on DAZN PPV in the US and DAZN (NOT PPV) in the UK.

How To Subscribe To DAZN/Buy The PPV: Click On This Link

Main Event Ring Walks will occur at approximately 4:15 am BST (11:15 pm ET, 8:15 pm PT). Stay tuned to NoSmokeSport.com for more details about the undercard, running order, and fight week updates as they happen.

Canelo Alvarez vs John Ryder – Undisputed Super Middleweight Title – Sat, May 6– Estadio Akron, Guadalajara, Mexico – Live On DAZN

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Eddie Hearn Believes That Ryan Garcia QUIT Against Gervonta Davis, “A Lot Of Fighters Would’ve Got Up Off That Knee”