Pattinson vs Jenkins Undercard Full Breakdown Of March 18 Newcastle “NXT GEN” Fight Card

Pattinson vs Jenkins Undercard: Full Breakdown Of March 18 Newcastle “NXT GEN” Fight Card

NXT GEN: Pattinson vs Jenkins Undercard Feature Two Title Fights And Birtley Amateur Stars

28-year-old Northumberland prospect Cyrus Pattinson (5-0, 3 KOs) meets one-time British and Commonwealth welterweight champion, Welshmen Chris Jenkins (23-6-3, 8 KOs) in the main event this Saturday, March 18 at the 10,000-capacity Utilita Arena in Newcastle live on DAZN.

Jenkins is coming off a tight decision loss to MTK Golden Contract finalist Tyrone McKenna back in August. And although on the downward trajectory, the former Lonsdale belt holder marks a big jump in levels for Pattinson and a win here for the former Team GB star could fast-track him to his own British title shot.

Pattinson impressively dominated and stopped Jorick Luisetto (12-4) inside six rounds in his last contest to claim the IBO Continental strap. Luisetto lost a 78-75 points decision to Florian Marku in late 2021. The unbeaten southpaw has been a little under the radar so far but this is the opportunity for him to receive a major push in media attention and public interest as we saw with Diego Pacheco‘s UK debut last week.

https://nosmokesport.com/ufc-286-edwards-vs-usman-3-uk-start-time-channel/

In the co-feature, 2020 Olympic Silver Medallist and highly-rated Welterweight prospect Pat McCormack (3-0, 2 KOs) returns to action against Italy’s Dario Socci (15-7-2, 6 KOs) over eight rounds. McCormack produced an underwhelming performance against a very negative opponent on his Matchroom debut and now looks to impress in front of his home crowd and build the momentum a fighter of his calibre deserves.

Read this:   McGrail vs Leach: Date, Time, TV Channel, Undercard

Unbeaten British Heavyweights collide as former Team GB star Solomon Dacres (5-0,1 KO) and local prospect Robert Ismay (11-0, 4 KOs) fight for the vacant English Heavyweight Title. Fabio Wardley, who holds the British championship is also promoted by Matchroom and the plan is likely for Dacres to challenge for that belt after Wardley relinquishes it in late 2023/early 2024.

Despite being technically superb, many feel Dacres lacks the punching power to compete at the top level. Ismay has competed just three times in the last 9 years following a 6-year spell out of the ring and only appearance per calendar year since. With huge amounts of activity and having never competed over more than six rounds, this isn’t expected to be too much of a test for Dacres. Ismay has only beaten one opponent with a winning record in his career.

Leeds Super-Bantamweight contender Hopey Price (9-0, 3 KOs) fights for his second pro title as he continues his march up the 122lbs ladder, taking on Frenchman Thomas Masson (20-5-1, 7 KOs) for the vacant WBA Continental Title. Price recently re-signed with Matchroom and hopes to make 2023 a major year for him after struggling to develop real momentum in the last two years due to injury.

Tom Zanetti reacts to being drawn to fight Jarvis | Kingpyn Boxing Tournament

Former Team GB Podium Squad member Mark Dickinson (4-0, 1 KOs) faces Ben Ridings (5-3) over eight rounds at Middleweight. Ridings was stopped in two last time out by the quite brilliant new BOXXER signing Callum Simpson but managed to extend Thomas Whittaker Hart eight competitive rounds at Light Heavyweight earlier in 2022.

Read this:   Oscar De La Hoya On Haney vs Garcia PPV Buys

Lightweight Calum French (3-0, 1 KO) fights Jordan Ellison (14-44-3, 1 KO) over eight rounds in a North East derby. Ellison is another fighter where the record may be deceptive but the 27-year-old is a former Northern Area champion and has pulled off multiple upsets, most recently Dylan Cheema last November.

Super-Lightweight Ben Marksby (6-0) fights an opponent with a winning record for the first time as he faces 5-2 Michal Bulik, Super-Bantamweight Muhammad Ali debuts against Sean Jackson (0-6-1), Super-Flyweight prospect Maiseyrose Courtney (1-0) makes her second appearance against Buchra El Quaissi (3-4-3) and Super-Featherweight Adam Reichard (1-0) faces Jahfieus Faure (1-11-1) over 4 rounds.

The 10-fight card is scheduled to begin at 4 pm GMT (12 pm ET, 9 am PT) on the Matchroom Boxing/DAZN Boxing YouTube channels with the main card a few hours later at 7 pm GMT (3 pm ET, 12 pm PT).

Main Event Ring Walks will take place at approximately 10 pm GMT (6 pm ET, 3 pm PT). Stay tuned to NoSmokeSport for more details about the running order and fight week updates as they happen. Tickets for the event, starting at £40, are still available.

Cyrus Pattinson vs Chris Jenkins – WBA International Welterweight Title – Sat March 18 – Utilita Arena, Newcastle – Live On DAZN

By Darshan Desai

Also Read; Usyk’s Team Debunk Tyson Fury’s Request For No Rematch Clause